THE DAY AFTER MONDAY

My man Doosh at Blatant Homerism has his SUPERLATIVES for September posted and it seems A.J. has folks taking notice. Even Willie Martinez made the list…albeit, not quite the same way.

Speaking of the amazing #8….I thought that what he accomplished last year was gonna be hard to duplicate. Then we find out he did all that with an injured groin and a limited knowledge of the offense. So, what does he do? He assumes his position back at the top of the SEC statistics as if he never missed a beat. He sits at the top of both major receiving categories in the SEC and isn’t doing bad NATIONALLY either.

  • RECEIVING YARDS PER GAME WITH  107 YPG
  • RECEPTIONS A GAME WITH 6.2
  • TOTAL RECEIVING YARDS WITH 428!

Not too shabby considering every team we play knows he’s getting the ball.  It’s a pleasure watching the young man do his thing, hand the ball to the official……and calmly walk back to the huddle.

The Senator has his S. E. C.  power rankings up over at GET THE PICTURE.  Not that it matters,…..but I think it looks just about right. There’s also his take on the upcoming battle with the BAYOU BENGALS.

The Lady Sportswriter has a nice write up on BACCARI RAMBO and his quest to take over the safety spot currently being held by Bryan  “TOAST”  Evans.  I thought Baccari showed really good instincts for the run/pass read, had soft  hands….. and he hits pretty hard too.

My man Rex  “KICKS” around his always well thought out musings.  When Mr. 99% speaks on UGa football, I listen…….and it seems just maybe Coach Fab does to.  Anyway, …I’m thinking he’s spot on with the whole winning ugly is better than losing pretty thing. These Dawgs do seem to lift each other up and play with purpose.

And big props to DAWG STEPHEN and the always loyal BERNIE for not only giving the student section their due, but for hanging in there with them in really nasty conditions.  WOOF! WOOF! WOOF! ……..

What’s that I smell……..corn dogs?


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bernie  On September 29, 2009 at 9:04 AM

    My heart swelled with pride when I walked out into my section, looked across the field and there sat THOUSANDS of students…over and hour before kickoff…marinating in God’s tears.

    Oh, did I fail to mention there was a lightning warning..?? I’m not gonna name names, but I know more than a few students in my day that woulda sat comfortably in their dorm or in Tate until the rain ended.

    THEN…the student section cheered heartily for the lone field level entertainment at halftime. That twirler was ON FIRE. First come first serve seating or not, rain or not…it was a good night for the students on the field and in the stands.

    • sic em  On September 29, 2009 at 9:39 AM

      It’s always great to see the student section in rare form getting down to business. I always think of the student section at Ben Hill Griffin and the impact they have on the crowd. I think last years game with the Gumps was a pretty proud moment for the Bulldog Nation also….even when it was hopeless Sanford was still full and noisy.

      I wasn’t able to make it because of work related stuff, but my boys did. They seemed to have had a really good time watching the student section too. They had been there since about 9:00 and I’m guessing the weather wasn’t much of a factor for them by kick-off

      On a side note…. I’m sure you noticed, but that true freshman middle linebacker for ASU, Vontez Burfict, was as about as good as any true freshman I’ve seen. I think we might have underestimated the quality of the defense they brought to Athens.

      Anyway….good job Bernie. Way to stick it out and represent. Go Dawgs!

  • That_DanRyan  On September 30, 2009 at 9:46 PM

    Don’t be so hard on the Tiger fans from Baton Rouge-they treated us with respect when we ventured there a few weeks ago.

    I still don’t understand the corndogs thing.

    Go Dawgs!

Leave a comment